In accordance with the County ordinance governing
contracts, Louisa County Code Sec. 10-14, any Contractor doing business
within Louisa County is required to obtain a County Contractors
License. The fees are based on previous years gross receipts as
|Up to $5,000||$ 5.00
|$5,001 - $25,000||$25.00
|Over $25,000||$25.00 plus $0.16 per each one
Hundred over the first $25,000
Virginia State Code Section 58.1-3503 defines personal property as automobiles, trucks,
manufactured homes, motorcycles, recreational vehicles, boats, trailers and aircraft.
Louisa County is a non-pro-rating County, if you owned the vehicle January 1st; you will
pay taxes for the full year. If you purchased a vehicle after January 1st you will not pay
personal property tax on that vehicle until the following year.
You are required to file a Personal Property Form each year. Forms are mailed in late
February listing what personal property is owned as of January 1st of the tax year based
on information provided by Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and/or Game and
Inland Fisheries (GIF). Information should be updated on the Personal Property Form and
mailed back to the Commissioner of the Revenue's office by May 1st. If you have disposed
of an item please notify DMV and/or GIF and then notify our office. New residents should
register all vehicles with the DMV prior to notifying us. Verify the garaging jurisdiction
is correct. Boats need to be registered with GIF also making sure the docking location is
Personal Property Tax Form
Assessments are based on 100% of the trade-in value of the January Eastern Edition of
the NADA Official Used Car Guide. Louisa County does an adjustment for high mileage on
vehicles. In order to have your vehicle adjusted for high mileage you would need to provide
proof of mileage as close to January 1st of the year (state inspection or statement with
mileage when the vehicle was serviced). You should file this with your Personal Property
form by May 1st so adjustments can be done prior to you receiving your tax bill.
High Mileage Discount Form
If you are active duty Military and your legal domicile is not Virginia, you will be
exempt from taxes on vehicles that are registered to you. A current Leave and Earn
Statement must be filed each year with the Commissioner of the Revenue showing your legal
domicile. When military persons retire and remain in Louisa County, their vehicle(s)
will be subject to personal property tax. All vehicles owned by military individuals who
claim Virginia as their legal state of residence are subject to personal property tax,
regardless of where the vehicle is physically located.
The Personal Property Tax Relief (PPTR) grants a percentage of relief for personal
property tax on personal-use vehicles valued at $20,000 and less. The percentage varies
each year (2013 relief 45.71%, 2014 relief 46.23%, 2015 relief 43.48% and 2016 relief
38.50%) and is based on the effect tax rate of $1.70/100 when the PPTRA of 1998 was
approved. Qualifying vehicles are those used predominantly for non-business purposes
and owned or leased by natural persons. If you can answer YES to any of the following
questions, your motor vehicle is considered by State Law to have a business use and
does NOT qualify for Personal Property Tax Relief.
- Is more than 50% of mileage for the year used as a business expense for Federal Income Tax purposes OR reimbursed by an employer?
- Is more than 50% of the depreciation associated with the vehicle deducted as a business expense for Federal Income Tax purposes?
- Is the vehicle leased by an individual and the leasing company pays the tax without reimbursement from the individual?
BUSINESS PERSONAL PROPERTY
Virginia State Code Section 58.1-3503(17) defines business personal property as all
tangible personal property employed in a trade or a business. Business are assessed,
but not limited to, office furniture, equipment, machinery and tools, computer equipment
and merchant's capital. The returns must be filed by May 1st of each year and all businesses
in Louisa County must file a form. If you have a business in Louisa County and you do not own,
lease or possess personal property, you are required to sign and return the form with an
attached statement explaining how you conduct your business. You are required to file a
business tangible personal property form each year. In order to keep your records accurate,
the information needs to be updated each year to reflect any changes that may have occurred.
Louisa County does not prorate and tax businesses that are in operation January 1st of the tax year.
If you fail to file a business tangible personal property return, you will receive a statutory
assessment on your business personal property. IT IS REQUIRED TO FILE A BUSINESS PERSONAL
PROPERTY FORM. Business Personal Property Form
REAL ESTATE ASSESSMENTS
All real estate is subject to taxation, except that
specifically exempted by state code. Property is assessed on January
1st. Tax bills are due on December 5th. The Real Estate Assessment
Office reassesses all real estate in Louisa County every year.
The Assessment Office is also responsible for assessing property
that has been subdivided; new construction; and improvements or
additions to an existing structure. Questions regarding a reassessment
notice should be directed to (540) 967-3450. If there is a change
of bill address, or any other change pertaining to your taxes, please
notify the Commissioner of Revenue's Office at (540) 967-3432.
REAL ESTATE TRANSFERS AND
The Office of the Commissioner of Revenue is responsible
-- maintaining a record for each parcel of property in Louisa County;
-- transferring property as recorded by Deed or Will in the Clerk
of the Circuit Court's office;
-- assigning map numbers; updating addresses of property owners
and new assessment changes for billing;
-- and, in addition, producing the Annual Real Estate Land Book,
which is the basis for the Treasurer's tax bill.
REAL ESTATE TAX RELIEF
FOR THE ELDERLY OR DISABLED
If you are 65 years of age or above on January
1st of the tax year or 100% handicapped, have income of less than
$40,000 from all sources, and have less than $100,000 in total net worth, you may be entitled
to an exemption on your Real Estate Tax. Applications for relief
on Real Estate Tax must be filed with the Commission of the Revenue's
office, P.O. Box 8, Louisa, VA 23093, by May 1st annually. The table below shows the discount for which you may be eligible.
(does NOT include home and first ten acres)
|Maximum relief is $1000. In-home relative's income can't exceed $6,500
REAL ESTATE LAND USE
Properties that qualify for Land Use under the
category of Agricultural or Forest must apply to the Office of the
Commissioner of Revenue by November 1st annually. To qualify for
agricultural use you must have a minimum of 5 acres open (excluding
a 1 acre home-site). To qualify for forest use you must have a minimum
of 20 acres in timberland (excluding a 1 acre home-site). There
is a $10.00 application fee.
DISABLED VETERANS REAL ESTATE EXEMPTION
A Disabled Veteran may qualify for an exemption from real estate; the following
requirements must be met in order to qualify for the exemption. The real estate must
be owned or jointly owned with a spouse by the veteran and the real estate must be the
veteran's primary residence. The veteran must be rated by the US Department of Veteran
Affairs to be 100% service-connected, permanent and totally disability. The exemption
is allowed on the primary residence, with all other improvements on the property subject
to taxation. The veteran must fill out the Real Estate Tax Relief for Veterans with 100%
Service-Connected Disability and provide an approved letter of disability issued by the US
Department of Veteran Affairs, photo identification and proof of residence occupancy, such
as a utility bill. The application does not have to be filed each year, however, if you
change your residence a new application needs to be filed.
The surviving spouse of an eligible veteran may also qualify provided the death of the
veteran occurs after January 1, 2011, the surviving spouse does not remarry and the surviving
spouse continues to occupy the real estate as his/her primary residence. A surviving spouse
must file an application as the surviving spouse and provide a copy of the death certificate
to confirm date is on or after January 1, 2011, a certified certificate of marriage from the
appropriate state office of records and proof of residence occupancy, such as a utility bill.
REAL ESTATE TAX RELIEF FOR SURVIVING SPOUSE OF ONE KILLED IN ACTION
The General Assembly exempted from real estate taxation, the property which is the primary
residence of a surviving spouse of a member of the Armed Forces who was killed in action. To
qualify, the value of the dwelling must not exceed the yearly average assessed value for a single
family home in Louisa and the dwelling must be the principle residence. To apply the spouse must
complete the Application for Real Property Tax Relief for Surviving Spouse of One Killed in Action
and provide a death certificate to confirm date is on or after January 1, 2015, a certified
certificate of marriage from the appropriate State office of records and proof of residence
occupancy such as a utility bill. The application does not have be filed each year, however,
a new application needs to be filed if the primary residence changes. The spouse must notify
the commissioner if they remarry.
STATE INCOME TAX
The Commissioner of Revenue's office is responsible for reviewing and processing state tax
returns for Louisa County residents. The due date for your Virginia Income Tax Return is May
1st. Through on-line access to the Department of Taxation Information System, the staff can
check the status of a refund for taxpayers.
The state allows a six month filing extension for individual and fiduciary income tax filers.
No paper application or online application for extension is required. The extension provisions
do not apply to payment of any tax that may be due with the return. To avoid penalties, filers
must pay at least 90% of their final tax liability by the original due date for filing return.
The Commissioner's office also handles estimated tax payments. Form 760ES Voucher 1 should be
sent to the Commissioner by May 1st. The Treasurer's Office processes all subsequent voucher payments.
All State Income Tax forms can be obtained from the Commissioner of Revenue's Office or by
visiting the Virginia Department of Taxation website.
VA Department of Taxation